of Roeburnscar, Backsbottom Farm and Wray
oldest maps show the site of Roeburnscar as a ruin. We believe that
it may have been inhabited by monks as an adjacent field is called
Abbey Holme and the nearby wood is Hill Kirks Wood. There are records of a monk
from Roeburndale who was hung for killing a deer in the 1700's!
farm woodland used to be coppiced on a 10 year cycle for oak and 30
year for alder. These provided woodland products for the village.
Swill oak baskets, alder clog soles, alder top hat blocks and various
timber used for broom and brush heads were produced
was made in the old pitsteads. These circular areas are common in the
Quarry which was closed around 1920, was considered the best roofing
flag quarry in England
was a hive of industry in the 1800's with top hat factory. silk mill,
nail making, felt hats, clogging and basket making.
Kenyon's book Wray and District Remembered is a great illustrated view and shows details of the farm and Quarry. This is available at Bridge End
tea rooms. Rural Industries of the Lune Valley edited by Michael
Winstanley gives a fascinating incite into the history of the area.